Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Macro to export data to new sheet

Status
Not open for further replies.

CBradshaw

IS-IT--Management
Jun 24, 2002
GB
Guys

Some of the guys here at work are using a rather complex excel sheet. Within this sheet are a couple of Macro's which, basically, look for a defined set of criteria within a specified area, and based on that criteria print certain sections of it out to the default printer.

They have asked if I can create a macro, to complete the exact same task, but instead if printing the result, simply export it to a new worksheet.

I'm no VB coder, and I'm not overly good with this sort of thing. Anyone care to help?

Any help appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Hi,

Figure out what you would do on the sheet.

Turn on your macro recorder and record.

Modify the recorded code accordingly. Here's where you post back with your code and questions if you don't know how to modify.

Skip,
[sub]
[glasses] [red][/red]
[tongue][/sub]

Thanks but I'm sure by now you know your post was not very helpful :)

I have the code whereby the criteria is selected, however the end result is that "ActiveWindow.SelectedSheets.PrintOut Copies:=1, Collate:=True" is run which prints out the previously selected information. What I'm trying to do is find the correct syntax for Copying criteria, opening a new workbook, and pasting that data in there.

My post will lead you to discover how to do it. What is your CRITERIA?

Skip,
[sub]
[glasses] [red][/red]
[tongue][/sub]

Nevermind - I'll find a more helpful forum perhaps......this used to be a helpful place.

All I am asking is if anyone knows what the correct syntax for exporting is?

I'll try elsewhere.