Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Macro for saving Word.docx with text of Header of that document 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Koen Piller

Programmer
Jun 30, 2005
NL
Hi,
I am new in Macro-country for MSWord.
Would like to create a macro which would save my MSWordfile with a filename which is the same as the Documentheader. If that than works I would like to add a custom icon to my preferable list activating this macro. Is that doable? And if so, someone willing to give me a hand?
Stay Healthy,
Koen

How is it that this document has a header but hasn't been saved?
How many paragraphs are in the header, & which one do you want to use?
Is there any content other than plain text in the header (e.g. tabs, images, etc.)?
Which header do you want to capture from (Word documents have three header objects)?

Cheers
Paul Edstein
[MS MVP - Word]

Paul,
Upon creation of the document the first thing is, in this business rule, to make a header. The header contains only one paragraphv and only text, no pictures. The header is for all pages / paragraphs of the document. The header contains only one column and is pure text.
This, further blank document is now saved as follows:
after creating the header, the content is C&P. The file is saved and in the box filename the header is C&V.
This all works fine untill you, have to change the header for some reason. Then you will end up with 2 saged docs where the first is saved with a wrong name.
Would be handy to have a button SaveWithHeaderContent without this C&P and C&V
Would be nice if the macro replaces the old filename with the new filename