Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Mac un NT DOmain controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

surzycki

IS-IT--Management
Feb 9, 2002
FR
Hello,

I am a newbie in the mac world. An I am trying to connect a Mac I have to a Windows NT network (OSX for the Mac, and NT,2000,2003 for Windows, with a domain controller that is win 2003). Here is where I am at:

- I was able to connect the Mac to the LAN through TCPIP
- It created a WorkGroup for all the other PCs to see
- I don't really want that, I would prefer if it were
to appear under the Domain

- I could access the Mac via PC through the WorkGroup.

What I would really want is to have the mac use an NT user account to log into the Domain. And get print and file sharing

Am I asking for too much???
Is this a HUGE question?
If it is where can I get info on how to do this??

Thanks in advance for any information

Stefan

Hello;
Maybe this can help you...
jl

First of all open Directory Access application in Utility, click on padlock icon to grant permission and write your password. Select SMB from the list and then click on "Configure..." button. In the workgroup field box type your domain name (MYDOMAIN in this explanation) select OK then Apply button. Quit Directory Access. From now on, your Mac is connected to the domain MYDOMAIN and you will see all servers under this domain.

Now you need to edit, with root permissions, smb.conf in /etc. I use vi, but you can choose whatever else text editor. Opened smb.conf make a new line under workgruop = MYDOMAIN and enter the follow code:

password server = *

security = domain

hide files = .Trashes/Temporary Items/Desktop */TheFindByContentFolder/