Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

M8X24 - No outbound audio on one station - very confusing

Status
Not open for further replies.

iswsystems

Vendor
Dec 15, 2008
CA
Looking for anyone who has bumped into this one....

I've been doing phone systems for 11 years, a lot of Nortel, Toshiba and NEC. Customer called me today, and they have one station (#245) that has no outbound audio on all types of calls....external, internal. paging.

Customer tried the following before calling me in:
Replaced handset
Replaced coily cord
Replaced modular cord
Replaced entire station

No change to symptoms after this.

I confirmed the symptoms before changing anything. Here's what I tried:

Step through all programming in general, all settings look normal.
Turned on set relocation, removed port #301 from this jack and tied a new port number (Port #110) to this jack. Plugged phone in an allowed set relocation to do it's thing. Still same symptoms. Tried another phone, still no outbound audio.

I've never seen anything like this....ever....anybody? It is a very old system M8X24. There are two M0X16 (copper) expansion modules, but only one is connected to the system. The one that is not connected is powered up, but it looks like it has been dragged behind a truck. Moving the extension from expansion cabinet 1 to the KSU to me has confirmed it is not a port issue.

I'm quoting on replacing the system now anyway, but since this phone belongs to HR, we need to come up with a temporary fix for the audio problem.

These are all analog trunks, and no other users are experiencing any issues thus far.