Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

M8X24-DS dialing 9 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

billycrystal

Technical User
Aug 19, 2002
US
I am sure this has been asked before but I am having trouble locating the correct solution before I go programming and mess up something. I am relatively new to the Norstar Systems and work at a school where we have to dial a 9 prior to any outside number. Is it possible to eliminate this feature without too much trouble?

We have the M8X24 - DS, M0X16 with DR5.1

-Why would you want to remove 9?
-If you wipe it out then what is your plan to dial out?

Having an understanding of this unusual request might have an impact on answers.

=----(((((((((()----=
Toronto, Canada

Add me to LinkedIN

Thanks Curlycord,
I understand it is unlawful now to have to dial anything other than 9-1-1 for emergencies and I thought it may just simplify things as to not having to dial 9 before every call. Is the "dial 9" option really important/necessary?

You can program each phone to Prime Line: to Pool X in programming.
This would have an impact on when you press Handsfree or picking up the handset, those whom Intercom more often then Prime Line= Intercom works.

The idea of 9 is probably because you do not have lines on your phone to choose from (Park & Page mode) like a regular PBX.

For 911 it is best to program dest codes accordingly:
This way 9911 and 911 can both be used.

There is also Hotline in Capabilities, program External and to dial 9

=----(((((((((()----=
Toronto, Canada

Add me to LinkedIN

Thanks CC,
I am sorry for not fully understanding your reply.

Let me clarify a bit;