Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

LS2208 scanner programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

dhapp

Programmer
Apr 1, 2012
US
I am a newbie to this forum and to using the LS2208 USB.
One of my customers has a LS2208 but did not know what to do with it. I was able to get it working and programmed it so that it would issue a tab after each scan and they have started to use it for some simple inventory work.
I would like to program it to make it more user friendly for some more complicated jobs. I have the manual, and have installed 123Scan2.
The trouble that I am having is getting used to the language associated with scanners. I would like to see some examples of the scan codes used for various tasks.
Here is one of the tasks I would like to program:
Scan, Tab, Scan, Tab, Scan Enter.
It is easy to get the tab to result after every scan, but how do I get the Enter (Return) to occur?

Is it possible to generate a barcode that will force the cursor to move down and then back to the left?
I already have the appropriate font for generating barcodes out of the printer and they work.

Any help is appreciated.

I am not sure how or where you are trying to make this all occur.

Typically the barcode reader (a.k.a. 'scanner') is merely a pretty 'dumb' input device. It reads and decodes the barcodes and makes that data available to an application (e.g. inventory control, warehouse management system, ERP system, etc.) running on a computer.

Also, in general, this data input 'appears' to the application exactly the same as if a user had manually typed it in via a keyboard - despite it having entered the computer via an alternative means (e.g. USB port, keyboard wedge, etc.).