Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Looking to do PC work on the side

Status
Not open for further replies.

PhilTA

MIS
Jan 3, 2006
US
I'm an IT Professional and I want to start doing some PC side work to supplement my income. I'm not looking to start a full blown business or leave my job. I'm just looking to make a few extra bucks.

I intend on doing home PC work like troubleshooting, wireless/network setups, virus/spyware removal, system rebuilds, etc.

I have no idea what kind of money to charge for this stuff. Would I be better off charging a fixed fee or is hourly the only way to go?

If anyone who does this type of work could share their pricing structure, it would be incredibly helpful.

Also, as far as obtaining hardware and software when needed, am I best off using someone like Newegg (where I currently buy all my personal stuff)?

The last question is how do you markup the price on hardware to your customers?

I had the same questions when I started. What I did was find out what geek squad and some other people doing the same thing were charging. Then I chose my rate. In some cases almost undercutting them by half. They get a great rate, great personal service, and everyone leaves happy.