Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Looking for a good way to learn Visual Basic from home

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sighbot

Technical User
Jun 26, 2012
US
I am interested in learning to use Visual Studio. I am a structural engineer but never took any programming classes while in college. For work, I have modified several existing programs that do things ranging from setting user variables to copying files/folders to populating forms in word documents. I am not sure what language these were in but the file names of the programs all ended in either .hta or .vbs. I have also created a tool using Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2010 that basically links to commonly used programs, websites and network folders that several of my co-workers have started using quite a bit also. This has lead to several co-workers requesting different tools to be made to make their jobs easier and I have fallen short on some of these requests simply because of my lack of programming experience.

Is there an online course that anyone would recommend for a beginner like myself? I am mainly interested in creating tools that can move or search for particular files or folders and also creating tools to fill out forms that we use in Excel and Word for almost every job that we work with.

Thanks in advance for any help that can be offered.
Tyler

hi,

In addition to Visual Studio/VB, since you mentioned Word & Excel, both of these applications (as well as many others) have packaged in them, a Visual Basic Editor for Visual Basic for Applications, a subset of VB for that application. Hit alt+F11 in any MS Office application, and up pops the VB Editor.