Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

looking for a database design/maintenance tool for Win9x/Linux 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

carpeliam

Programmer
Mar 17, 2000
US
I'm a college student, so my budget is tiny, but after using some DB apps in various internships, I don't want to go back to Notepad. Right now, I'm using "DeZign for databases"; it's shareware, straight from download.com. It's surprisingly good for a shareware program, but it has its drawbacks; for example, it can only have about 6 or so elements per table.

The project is approximately a mid-scale member-based website. Most developers in this team are using Win9x, but a few are using Linux. It's a non-profit project, and we aren't getting any funds or contributions, so it's whatever we can scrounge up (correction: whatever I can scrounge up). Therefore, free solutions are always great.

I should have some money over the summer so I'll be able to buy something (for either Win98 or Win2K), but that won't help the rest of my team.

If anybody can give me a hand, it would be greatly appreciated. If you need any additional information in order to respond, I'd be more than happy to supply it.

Maybe it should be noted that this is cross-posted on the "General Database discussion" forum; I have only cross-posted because it was thought that my question would be best answered in this forum.

Thank you very much. Liam Morley
imotic@hotmail.com
"light the deep, and bring silence to the world.
light the world, and bring depth to the silence."