Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Look for help i java-calculations 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

martinus1509

Technical User
Feb 5, 2012
DK
Hi
Perhaps I'm in the wrong forum. But nevertheless - here I go:
I'm looking for a solution on a calculation-form in which user fill in text-boxes. Then the script should first perform an addition of the values and then multiply the result with factor 1.5..

Does it make any sense?
Maybe this example will:

What I want to do is this:
(2+2+2)*1.5=9

Can this be done with one calculation or do I have to have two steps in the process?

Appearantly I'm not a programmer. But I desperately need help? So Please if anyone can answe me - and help set it up within the frame of a form produced in RSForm! Pro (from RSjoomla.com)...

Yours Sincerely

Claus Vesterager Martinus

A few clarifications:

1. Java is not Javascript. Since Joomla is a framework for websites, and RsForm! Pro does web forms I'll assume what you really want is a Javascript solution. In which case this is the correct forum.

2. How many textboxes? If the number is not known then I assume there would be a way of identifying the textboxes that are supposed to be added. A name or an Id maybe.

3. Why does this need to be done in Javascript? Why not in whatever processes your form server side?

4 If it does in fact need to be done client side, where is this result supposed to go to? Another textbox? Displayed as text on the page?

With all that out of the way, the basic premise would be as simple as your calculation:

Code:
function calculate(){

var result=( textbox1.value + textbox2.value + textbox3.value ... ) * 1.5;
}

----------------------------------
Phil AKA Vacunita