Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Logoff script to backup Outlook data 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

alanterrill

IS-IT--Management
Sep 10, 2003
GB
I want to automate the backup of users Outlook data which is at present held on their c drives. I want to move it to the server each night when they close down so it gets backed up. Logoff scripts seem a good idea, but I've never written a script before.
What I want to say is something like:
xcopy c:\documents and settings\local settings\application data\microsoft\outlook\outlook.pst p:\outlook
However, how do I substitute the name of each user for username? Is it %username%?
I've tried running the above just as a batch file on my PC and it says "Invalid number of parameters". I'm assuming as a dos utility it can't handle "documents and settings" -is there a better command that will handle long file names, or does the error message indicate something else?

try xcopy c:\docume~1\%username%\locals~1\applica~1\micros~1\outlook\outlook.pst p:\outlook

Many Thanks! Unfortunately it doesn't work. I'm assuming the general rule is max 8 characters between each slash -in which case applica~1 is 9, so I shortened it to applic~1, but still get "file not found -outlook.pst". Any further ideas?

I shall have a look at the synchronization idea, but I think it would take a lot longer to set up as I'd have to go to every pc and set it up, as well as manually copy the first file onto the server, so the pc had something to synchronize with.

Here you go this should work for you, put this intoa bat file,

c:
cd c:\docume~1\%username%\locals~1\applic~1\micros~1\outlookxcopy outlook.pst x:\outlook\%username%pause