Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Loading Dropdown list data for DAP at runtime

Status
Not open for further replies.

richrock316

Programmer
Jul 30, 2003
US
Hello,

I am experienced at using forms, but this is my first try at using a Data Access Page. I am using Access 2003. What i need to do is populate my dropdown list with dates based on the current date. The info will look like this
"October 19, 2008 - October 25, 2008", etc.
I have a little formula for that, so that is no problem:

reportperiod.disabled = false
firstweek = Month(Date) & "/01/" & Year(Date)
FirstDay = Weekday(firstweek)
If FirstDay < 5 Then
begweek = firstweek - (FirstDay - 1)
firstinc = True
End If
endweek = begweek + 6

But i dont know how to put it in the dropdown list on an "onchange" event of a previous list.

Or would it be smarter to have the dropdown linked to a table, and then on the "onchange" event of the previous list i populate that table with the above function (after clearing it first). Problem is i dont know how to do this either.

I have done a decent amount of research on this and the stuff i have tried hasnt worked. Any help or steerings in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Richard

Your dropdown shows a range? Is this for just titles? I can't see it being for a parameter query.
Remember, DAP's are not forms. They are web pages. So forget what you know about forms.
In you'll see that "many of the Access-specific features (value lists, list-filling callback functions, and so on) won't work here."
More reading:
Modifying the row source of a list box on a data access page in Access