Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Load Wizard

Status
Not open for further replies.

lbzh

Programmer
Aug 7, 2004
US
I am a newbie first time using UDB on Unix.

I am using the Load Wizard to load a flat file into a table.

All the values are specified in the flat file with the exception of 1 field - timestamp.

When I do the insert I would like to record in the table the time the record was inserted.

As an example below I mapped two fields below Field1 and Field2, but would like to insert a field called timestamp too which is in the table:

CONNECT TO PLSAMPLE USER abc USING *****;
LOAD CLIENT FROM "C:\Canextr\conx.txt" OF ASC MODIFIED BY NULLINDCHAR=Y METHOD L (1 10, 11 200) NULL INDICATORS (0, 0) MESSAGES "C:\abc.txt" INSERT INTO DB2INST2.FILE1(FLD1, FLD2) COPY NO INDEXING MODE AUTOSELECT;
CONNECT RESET;

Am I using the right utility for the load or should I be using a different one. If it is the right one, how do I accomodate the input of timestamp too?

Thanks

Hi,
you can use the import utility instead of load, if the data is less.
I am here with pasting the info from db2 manual. Hope this will help you.

Using Import with Generated Columns
The import utility can be used to import data into a table containing (non-identity) generated columns.

If no generated column-related file type modifiers are used, the import utility works according to the following rules:

A value will be generated for a generated column whenever the corresponding row in the input file is missing a value for the column, or a NULL value is explicitly given. If a non-NULL value is supplied for a generated column, the row is rejected (SQL3550W).