Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Little red square with an X in it

Status
Not open for further replies.

Telephonist

Technical User
Sep 3, 2003
US
Hello All, I'm fairly new to Quark and I can't figure this out. I'll include as much info as possible, since I don't know what's relevant.

I'm running QuarkXpress 6.0 for Windows, working on a document that was created by someone else about 8 years ago using QuarkXpress 4.04 for Windows. The project is a campus directory, and the section with this problem is a group of pages for emergency instructions that have no page numbers.

On several of the pages, there is a little icon that's a red square with a red X inside, at the bottom of the page. Apparently, this little icon indicates some feature or function that will not allow the text to flow to a subsequent page when we add to what is already there. The text that should flow to a new page just disappears off the bottom of the page with the icon. If we copy and paste the text into a new page, the icon appears on the new page, too.

On several of the pages with the icon, the text goes outside of the top and bottom "margins" that are defined on a normal page, so I'm thinking that the author of this document used some feature to keep the text limited to one page. However, it's also possible that this was a mistake, since the original author was just learning the product, as well.

I have spent many hours looking for how to eliminate this icon, but since I don't know what it is, I haven't found anything useful. Can anyone tell me what the icon represents, and how to get rid of it? Any help is appreciated.

Hi Telephonist