Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

List Users and Roles of a table

Status
Not open for further replies.

pat718

Programmer
Apr 21, 2014
US
I have been trying to figure out how to do this for a few days. I thought this would be simple but I keep getting an error. I am trying to list all of the roles AND users that have access to a table in Oracle 11g. I am new to this but I tried this:

SELECT * FROM all_users, dba_role_privs
WHERE table = 'data_mart'

What am I doing wrong? Thanks for your help.

select username,granted_role
from all_users,dba_role_privs
where grantee = username

Bill
Lead Application Developer
New York State, USA

Hi Bill,

Thanks for your help. But I need to see the users and roles that have access to my data_mart table. Thanks.

select Grantee,'Granted Through Role' as Grant_Type, role, table_name
from role_tab_privs rtp, dba_role_privs drp
where rtp.role = drp.granted_role
and table_name = 'DATA_MART'
union
select Grantee,'Direct Grant' as Grant_type, null as role, table_name
from dba_tab_privs
where table_name = 'DATA_MART';

Bill
New York State, USA

Thanks again Bill. Now I am only getting column names with no rows of data. The column names I am getting are GRANTEE, GRANT TYPE, ROLE, TABLE_NAME. I only need to see all the users and roles for the data_mart table. Thanks.

Those are the roles and users with direct grants on the DATA_MART table only.

Bill
New York State, USA

This is not working. I only get the column names with no rows of data. Just the column names when I run this query:

select Grantee,'Granted Through Role' as Grant_Type, role, table_name
from role_tab_privs rtp, dba_role_privs drp
where rtp.role = drp.granted_role