Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

List multiple files in multiple locations?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stinney

IS-IT--Management
Nov 29, 2004
US

I'm just starting out with trying to manage a Sun box.

Is there an easy way I could list all login.profile for all users in the /export/home directory so I can see the last modified date of the file and not have to look at each one individually?

I've gotten an output of all users and when they last logged in, but don't want to manually look at each modification date on the login.profile file to see when it was created. I just want to avoid removing someone's login if it was recently created, but they haven't had a chance to login yet.

- Stinney

Favorite all too common vendor responses: "We've never seen this issue before." AND "No one's ever wanted to use it like that before.

From /export/home:

find . -name '.profile' -exec ls -la \;

to see the details you require

I want to be good, is that not enough?

Here is my '2-pennyworth'.

>> Is there an easy way I could list all login.profile for all users in the /export/home directory ...

Yes, something like:

find /export/home -name "login.profile" -ls

>> I just want to avoid removing someone's login if it was recently created, but they haven't had a chance to login yet.

Please be careful. 'Creation date' of a file is not recorded on (most) UNIX systems - only latest 'Modification date/time' and 'Access date/time' is kept. Also the login.profile file may not be changed every time a user logs in (I would agree that the file should have its access time updated because it would be run as a script at login).

I hope that helps.

Mike