Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Linux+ preparation 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

brokenhalo

IS-IT--Management
Feb 24, 2008
US
Hey guys,

I am currently studying for my Linux+ exam. My study materials are a year or two outdated, and I was wondering if anyone had some suggestions as to how I can prepare for this exam. Are there any study guides or cheat sheets you guys can recommend? I currently am using the TestOut software for all of my exam prep, including MCSE and Network+, and it seems to be working great so far with my other exams. I am fairly new to Linux, and have been kinda thrown into it about 8 months ago, when I started my new job maintaining and developing CentOS based web servers... So needless to say I ahve learned alot, but I now need to prove what i know. Thanks a million guys (and gals).

Brad L. - MCP

"If the doctors told me I had 5 minutes to live, I would type faster.

Brad,
As with most of the CompTIA exams, just pick up one of the latest books on the subject - I like to go to Borders and look at the different offerings to see how they read and what test software they come with etc.

Then if I have a good coupon, Borders will email you 20% to 40% off coupos almost weekly if you register at the sight, I will buy from them, if not I will shop Amazon or but take into account shipping and any coupon I have for Borders :)

But I always like to check a book out first to see if I like it and the way it READS for ME!!!

Read 1 good book and you are ready for MOST CompTIA exams, if you plan to work with the subject it might be nice to setup several flavors of Linux on a 2nd PC for some HANDS-ON practice.

Just some thoughts!

E.A. Broda