Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Linux: How its panning out

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stevehewitt

IS-IT--Management
Jun 7, 2001
GB
Hi everyone,

Wasn't too sure where to post this; maybe not anywhere on TT as it's really a bit of a blog - but I'd appreciate your feedback!

As some of you may already know, I'm a WinNT system admin and have been for about 9 years.

About 3 years ago I thought I'd check out this "Linux thing" that everyone was talking about. I purchased a copy of SuSE Linux (can't remember the version - sorry) and put my feedback in one of the forums.
I was pretty negative and got slated for it!

However, I thought I'd give it another go with a more recent version to see how it is progressing. I downloaded RH Fedora Core a couple of weeks ago and fired it up.

----------------------------------------------------

Initally I'm inpressed. The setup is a lot more stable that it was when I tried it with my old version of SuSE. To be honest, there isn't a huge amount I can say about the setup that isn't great; although if your a user that wants to "customise" your machine the options are vast and can be a bit daunting.

One of my biggest hates with Linux was that applications had stupid names. OK - I'm not expecting a 'control panel' icon, after all it's not Windows. But something that related to editing the system settings in a GUI would be nice. I recall that the SuSE release I used had awful names for even the most basic of system applications which made it nearly unusable for all but experienced users of Linux and above.