Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

linux assembly 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

newbieatassembly

Technical User
Oct 4, 2000
IN
Hi,

I am just learning assembly and I am trying to write in Linux.
Linux seems to use eax,ebx etc register while dos uses ax,bx etc. Whats the deal?

I don't get it. Linux-Assembly-HOWTO doesn't have much to say.
Do you have any idea where linux assembly tutorials are given ?

Is asm OS specific?

The use of EAX, EBX, etc. is only possible on 32 bit processors (in the 80x86 family: starting with the 80386). Now each of the registers EAX, EBX, ECX and EDX can now be accessed in four ways (example for EAX):
1. AL, the low 8 bits of register AX D0-D7 (data bits 0-7)
2. AH, the high 8 bits of register AX D8-D15
3. AX, the low 16 bits of register EAX D0-D15
4. EAX, the full 32 bits D0-D32
Also the registers SP, BP, SI, DI, IP and Flags are expanded to, respectively, ESP, EBP, ESI, EDI, EIP and EFlags (newly added flags: VM, RF, NT, IOPL).
Also added: 2 (data) segment registers: FS and GS; 3 control registers: CR0, CR2 (Page fault linear address) and CR3 (Page directory base); 4 system address registers: GDTR, IDTR, TR and LDTR; 6 debug registers: DR0, DR1, DR2, DR3, DR6 and DR7; and 2 test registers: TR6 and TR7.
All these added registers are still available on 80486, Pentium and Pentium Pro (probably on PII and PIII too). Regards,
Bert Vingerhoets
vingerhoetsbert@hotmail.com
Don't worry what people think about you. They're too busy wondering what you think about them.