Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Linking Foxpro to Access

Status
Not open for further replies.

rsmith64

MIS
Jun 20, 2002
US
I am trying to link a *.dbf file to an already made table in Access 2000.

However, all I can manage to do at this point is import the foxpro table from the dbf file, instead of just linking it to the one I've already created. I'd like for it to be dynamic. Isn't there a way to link particular columns of data from a dbf file into an already made table?

Can someone help? There's about 30,000 records, and I'm desperate... :) (I'm new to the Access scene...)

If I understand you correctly, what you need to do is create a link to the FP file, using the wizards. You can then use the table as if it were part of the access database (i think!).
Alternativly you could create an append query which copies the data from the fp table to the access table.

Ben ----------------------------------
Ben O'Hara
bo104@westyorkshire.police.uk
----------------------------------

Ok... Here's my situation.

The data that I'm linking from Foxpro is simply customer information, customer id, names, addresses, order dates, etc...

My goal is to create a way for the user to be able to 'check yes/no' if this particular record is to receive a letter or not. I was thinking of adding another field called "Letter" into the table, with the option of yes/no, and then create a query that pulls out all the 'yes' records that are in the database, and sends it to a mail merge in word. Is there a better way of doing this? I'm definately over my head here, trying to learn in a week what usually takes a few months. :) Thanks for the help!