Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Linking DBs in CR 11 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

madsstiig

Technical User
Jun 11, 2008
DK
Hi.

I just love this site...! [bigsmile]
What I don't love is our IT department who decided that the databases I use to extract some statistics no longer need to have the same data form in the only two fields (one from each DB) I use to define my reports.
I work as a system admin on a hospital and the two DBs are one for image data and one for data concerning the booking for these image data.
The workflow is started with someone creating a request that results in a booking in the first DB (RIS database). When the patients get their examinations done images are sent to the second DB (PACS database).
Each exam is identified by a unique(!) accession number. Except that recently this number gets a prefix ('DKRIG') in the second DB.
When we work with CR I know that it's possible to define that we only ned e.g. the last 8 characters from a certain field but do we have the same option when linking the databases?

Best regards, Mads Stiig

Two possibilities come to mind, although someone else might have a better idea:

1- Use a SQL expression in the database with the longer number to remove the first five characters. Depending upon your DB, it might be left() or its equivalent. Then use this expression to link one database to the number in the second database (that you have added in a subreport) as a subreport link.

2A- If you are able to use the same driver for both DBs, try creating the report using a command where you again use a form of the left function to link one table to the other within the command.