Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

linking bcm 400 to UCX

Status
Not open for further replies.

wichie13

Technical User
Feb 4, 2002
CA
Is it possible to network a bcm to the UCX ? Or would it be better to replace the BCM keep the I2000 sets and network the two new UCx's?

Thanks

I am totally new to UCx just checking it out.

W

You didn't mention the s\w release on the BCM or if the BCM is a 50\200\400 or BCM 450. If my memory serves me correct, you need the 3.7 to do the SIP Trunking. You MUST have either VoIP Trunks (keycode turns on H.323 or SIP), or SIP Trunks keycodes (SIP Trunk ONLY, NO H.323)

The SIP Trunks are set up as a peer to peer relationship. If you keep the BCM, know the support for the hardware ends next year and there is no further development on the platform. However, you can use any of the Avaya\Nortel IP sets on the UCx as well as any digital stations you may have on the BCM. This is done with the Digital Gateway Server for the UCx. The UCx will support the M7xx and T7xx series as well as the CS1K sets using the Media Gateway Controller. The UCx MUST be on the current 4.0 platform to support the CS1K sets...

Networking the two UCx systems is even easier than BCM to UCx. Takes about five minutes if that long...

I hope this helps and have a blessed day....

Stocking Distributor for E-Metrotel

Thanks

Yes its a BCM 400 on 3.7 I believe, but from what you said I think I might get them off BCM and look at UCx to UCx. What about 4 sites on UCx networked? with one site as the main site.

Thanks