Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Link to specific content in PDF through a web search

Status
Not open for further replies.

KAS68

Technical User
Aug 31, 2015
US
Hi all, new member here. I'm fairly new to web development but I think that what I'm trying to do should be doable! [glasses] I'm really hoping someone can help!!!

[ul]
[li]I'm using Adobe Acrobat Pro X.[/li]
[li]I know how to add named destinations, bookmarks, and links to my PDF files.[/li]
[li]I have added a search feature to the company website.[/li]
[li]I'm testing 2 different searches; 1 is google and one is master.com[/li]
[li]The search does find content within the PDF files BUT.... when you click the link it takes you to the 1st page of said PDF where you have to search again to find the content.[/li]
[li]I'm sure there must be some way to eliminate the 2nd search step and have the original result open to the section where the result resides.[/li]
[/ul]

Am I crazy? Has anyone figured this out? I appreciate any help you can give. Thanks.
K

Forum223 would be the place to ask.

Chris.

Indifference will be the downfall of mankind, but who cares?
Time flies like an arrow, however, fruit flies like a banana.
Webmaster Forum

Thanks Chris,
I didn't even realize that forum existed .... there are so many I'm still browsing!! I posted my question there.

This is still more of a web question than an Acrobat question, which is why I'm answering here.

These indexing services you are trying will not offer the function you seek. You will need to make your own index.

You can directly link to a page within a PDF by composing a URL like this:
or

With this in mind, you could create an index HTML page like this.

Code:
<ul>