Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Limiting Choices in a Dropdown Box with VBA

Status
Not open for further replies.

TechnaDiva

Technical User
Nov 1, 2004
US
I am new to VBA and I am trying to control which items show up in my dropdown box (MyDropdown), based on whether a check box (MyCheckbox) is checked or not. The dropdown box is populated from a table (MyChoices). If the check box is checked, I would like it to list choises 1,2,4, and 8. If it is unchecked, I want it to list 3,5,6, and 7. It is important that the unchecked value is the starting value )as the box is unchecked) and that toggling it on and off resets the value accordingly. I have no idea where to begin, but would appreciate any help.

TD

Probably the simplest way to do this is to clear down MyDropdown then individually add each item you require depending on the value of MyCheckbox each time you change the value of MyCheckbox. You can call the sub when the form is originally invoked

Sub MyCheckbox_Change

MyDropdown.Clear

If MyCheckBox = True then
MyDropDown.Add MyChoices(1)
MyDropDown.Add MyChoices(2)
MyDropDown.Add MyChoices(4)
MyDropDown.Add MyChoices(8)
Else
MyDropDown.Add MyChoices(3)
MyDropDown.Add MyChoices(5)
MyDropDown.Add MyChoices(6)
MyDropDown.Add MyChoices(7)
End If

End Sub

DeeBeeGee,

You are wonderful to help me out, it is exactly what I wanted. I am unable to get it to work though. Can you help?

I added the following code to the form open:

Private Sub Form_Open(Cancel As Integer)

Call MyCheckbox_Change

End Sub

Then I added your code:

Sub MyCheckbox_Change

MyDropdown.Clear

If MyCheckBox = True then
MyDropDown.Add MyChoices(1)
MyDropDown.Add MyChoices(2)
MyDropDown.Add MyChoices(4)