Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

License Server Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

khalidaaa

Technical User
Jan 19, 2006
BH
Hi Guros,

I'm new to the Citrix area and i've been reading in the Citrix manuals. I'm trying to install Citrix presentation server and i read that the first step in building a farm is to install the license server.

I'm doing this on virtual Machines as a test environment. We already have a production farm running. The question is can i use the license files that are on my production server for my test? or how would i implement this then? from where i can get licenses for my test virtual machines?

It would help me much as well if you can think of a good farm structure for a new guy like me to be able to test fully Citrix features.

Any help is appreciated.

Regards,
Khalid

khalidaaa,
You can reallocate some of the production farm licenses to the test farm servers by going to mycitrix.com and pulling back your licenses.

Once you pulled back your licenses, you can create multiple license files (1 for your test and 1 for your production farm) and download them to the appropriate server.

Should be pretty simple.

Hope that helps.

But i will be running this test for a small period of time (just for myself to know that i can do it!) so i don't want to change any production licensing (My senior won't allow it!)

Do you think that there are something else i can use? like a license that will expire within a small amount of time for free!

Thanks for your comment enigma99

Regards,
Khalid

I could be wrong, but I think there is like around a 30 day grace period where Citrix will run without licenses. Can someone confirm this for me?