Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Lenovo ThinkCenter rebuild 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fino

IS-IT--Management
May 13, 2007
US
I have a Lenovo M70e Desktop (ThinkCentre) - Type 0806, Machine Type Model: 0806E1U with a dead motherboard or CPU. I was running Windows 10 Pro on it when it died.

I want to try my hand at rebuilding it with a new motherboard, CPU, and memory and use my existing two hard drives. I have never built a PC before so I am asking for some suggestions regarding what motherboard and CPU would be a good fit for this Tower case.

I suspect I will be able to still use my copy of Windows after installing all the new hardware.
The machine will NOT be used for gaming. It will simply be added to my home network with Office 365 and routine Internet searching, etc. I do want to have 1 GB network connectivity.

Has anyone here rebuilt an old machine like this? The Power Supply, Hard Drives, and Switches, etc., all seem to be okay. My dilemma is figuring out what Motherboard and CPU would fit into the existing case. There are so many choices and I don’t want to make a mistake and order the wrong parts.

Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.

The Lenovo M70e 0806E1U desktop was introduced ~2011/2012 as an 'entry-level desktop designed for large enterprises which need to shrink operational, maintenance and energy costs', i.e. a budget business PC with an underpowered CPU and matching PSU. Reviews at the time were generally poor as the 'build down to a price point' resulted in very poor Windows performance scores. That didn't matter... it was built to be cheap and reliable, nothing more.