Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Legato v6 Windwos 2000 issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrTickle

Technical User
Nov 15, 2002
GB
Hi,

I'm new to Legato and have a problem with an upgrade from NT4 server to Windows 2000 that runs Legato v6 as a storage node.

The server is a Compaq ML570 with a Compaq TL892 changer at firmware revision 05.14. The driver of the SCSI card that the changer is attached to is a Symbios driver.

The problem is that when I do a jbconfig -s and go through the process to add the jukebox I get the message:

Unable to access device 'Digital TL800 Series' on control port 'rd=jb5:scsidev@2.0.0' There appears to be something incorrect about your driver installation.

Also when I run an inquire, at the end of the line that reports the jukebox I get \\.\CD-ROM (where as when the server was NT4 this did not appear).

Before the upgrade (have tried clean builds and inline upgrades, default drivers and updated compaq drivers), as an NT4 server this setup worked without issue and I have built a proliant 5500 as Win2k and Legato v6 with a TL800 series attached, all working, same drivers, same scsi cards etc.

It all looks OK from a Windows point of view, but I dont know Legato and if anyone has any ideas, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks

:)

Showing "\\.\CD-ROM" at the end of an INQUIRE output line is possible. However - having it in line with the jukebox information looks strange. In my eyes this can only happen if you got a SCSI CD-ROM drive and assigned the same ID to it as for the jukebox.