Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Learning Photoshop 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

SamBones

Programmer
Aug 8, 2002
US
Does anyone have suggestions on the best way to learn Photoshop?

I know it can do a lot more, but I'm a photographer and would be only using it for manipulating photographs. I'd like to learn layers and all the wonderful things that gives you. I'd like to be able to fix exposure issues and make my pictures pop.

I was planning on taking a class that was being offered at my local JC, but they stopped offering it. I've bought a couple books, but that's a slow way to learn something like this, for me at least. I've looked at the YouTube, but there are a bazillion of them, and some of them that I watched were pretty bad (old versions and/or people who can't teach).

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

This may sound trite but the best way to learn it is to use it. If you get into a jam, Google is a couple of clicks away. I learned it in an unforgiving, high volume environment and I learned that simple is much more efficient than complex. Easy is faster than hard (duh). If you find yourself spending a lot of time on a small job, you are probably doing something wrong. If you find yourself repeating a task more than a couple of times, it might be time to record an "action" or write a script.

Add water (makes its own sauce).

The best way to learn Photoshop? Hopefully with an existing perpetual license. [bigsmile]