Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Learning path: Java or .net?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jsbtech

Programmer
Jul 27, 2007
US
I have been a VB6 programmer for 4 years at a small manufacturing company with poor work environment, no career growth, no company vision and prospect. And, you bet, I am about 18% underpaid. For those reasons, I have been looking for another job for 2 months.

Actually the job market looks great right now but I still have not found any good company which is willing to hire me (or even give me a face-to-face interview). Why? Because of the limitations of my skills just in VB6, Access database, HTML and JavaScript. I feel that I am getting stuck in my career.

For those reasons, I know it is time for me to pick up new language so I look at Java and .net.

First, since I have the background of VB6, I should be able to pick up .net (C# or VB.net) fast.

Second, I took a Java J2SE class 5 years ago. I found that I liked it and I got an A in the class. Plus, if I isn't wrong, getting the first and second Java Certificates seems like faster than Microsoft's ones.

For job openings, I think both Java and .net have about the same opportunities in the market. My dream is getting in a big corporation and work on any big enterprise system or software.

So now my question is: Jave or .net? Which one should I go for? Any comment?

JSB

In you case I would recommend Java. If you go .Net you must forget everything you have learned in vb6.