Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Learning curve between Siemens and Nortel 6

Status
Not open for further replies.
Apr 22, 2005
US
Hello all, I am new to the Siemens PBX/Voicemail world, because our company has the Nortel PBX/Voicemail system. I am applying for a job and they have the Siemens system, all they mentioned was Siemens PBX/Voicemail, and I would like to get some feedbacks from all you Siemens experts on the difference.

The job mentioned Add/Move/Change type of tasks.

Thank you all.

Richard

I had a relative situation. With a public organization we had to take the lowest bidder....Siemens. It was a nightmare. Nortel docuemntation is excellent, Siemens, if you get any, is very difficult and tech support is not forth coming with free info. The first thing from anyone at Siemens is....."for a cost".

PBX's are all relative, you may get a good siemens tech and already have docuemntation. If you need more let me know.

Also ask the employeer for training from Siemens. Some support techs react to you if you have no Soemens training.

Thanks GMgerry. I read lots of bad reports on Siemens and their support staff from this forum. It is pretty sad that such a big company doesn't pay attention to their customer.

Asking for training is a great suggestion. I will keep you in mind if anything else comes up.

Thanks you!

One additional point. The Enterprise division of Siemens (the pbx side) is up for sale. They had three bidders and all of them backed out because Siemens wanted way more that it is worth. In fact they were asking Siemens for cash in the deal. In other words they wanted Siemens to pay them to take it off their hands.

Here any time.