Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Learn about SAN

Status
Not open for further replies.

PatricF

IS-IT--Management
Apr 3, 2012
SE
Hi,

I work for a company which host different services like web, dns, mail and all that. I'm currently thinking about buying a SAN for out servers but I have never used a SAN before so in that area I'm kind of new.

Are there information somewhere on how SAN works and how you would deploy a SAN, setup LUN's etc. and all about how it works?

I feel that I need to educate myself in this area but can't find any clear information about the subject.
If you know any books or other literature please recommend. If there are any online information it would be even better.

We are just using HP servers and network equipment so we are thinking about buying a LeftHand P4000 series SAN, or maybe go down to a P2000 if the budget wont let us buy a P4000.

So we are pretty much talking about a more budget SAN and not something from EMC or HP's EVA or anything like that.

Any information is welcome!

Thanks,
-Patric

You of course will find a plethora of hardware independant information about SANs doing Google searches (what is a SAN, SAN technology basics, etc...), so that should be pretty straight foward.