Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Keeping 2 servers synchronized

Status
Not open for further replies.

dr1256dr

IS-IT--Management
Sep 29, 2002
US
I am a developer working from home 2 or 3 days a week. I need to keep my home SQL server in synch with my server at work, give or take a few hours. I am running SQL Server 2000.

Currently, I run a backup at night, zip up and download the file in the morning, then do a restore. This works fine, except the download, although only 150 KB or so, takes a very long time. (The initial data backup file is around 1.6 GB before zipping)

Is there a way I can set up a backup procedure that creates a file with ONLY the incremental changes from the past day? I realize this would have to be in addition to the regular backup.

I know businesses keep remote instances of their servers in synch all the time. Since I am developing applications that I need to test in an environment that matches the office as close as possible, I have my home server set up exactly as the work location, (server name, paths, etc).
I imagine this restricts me from using more conventional synch procedures?

I am the DB Admin, and have Terminal Services admin access, along with pcAnywhere full privileges.

I am open to any suggestions.

Thanks in advance

Dennis

What you can perfom is daily you can schdeule a full back up and restore from your prod to dev, else you can schdule a trasnaction logfile bak and restore.

Dr.Sql
Good Luck.

Thanks for the quick response, Dr.Sql