Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Keep Quiet or Leave? 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thargy

Technical User
Nov 15, 2005
GB
I work for an abusive and overweening boss.

I am a DBA.

I have recognised one of our major DBA problems,and written software to correct said problem.

My boss, has (upon written threat of dismissal) insisted that I not only do what he says, but to it in the way he says. He has insisted that I follow his written instructions to the letter, and after such threats, I have done so.

Our databases are wandering into chaos, which I know about, but my boss and the test department don't. My software would correct the problem instantly and for ever, with guaranteed results.

Should I

a) Find another job?
b) soldier on, until the databases implode?
c) Bring this to his attention, knowing that it will likely lead to dismissal?

Any ideas folks?

T

Grinding away at things Oracular

Absolutely go get another job.
In the meantime, document, document, document. Follow his orders to the letter but make sure you keep the copies documentation of the orders someplace not at work. Especially the one which says that you must follow his orders on pain of termination. You may need these if things blow up before you get another job and you are wrongfully terminated.

I would also make sure my finacila house wasa in order and start putting as much money away as possible in case you get terminated.

"NOTHING is more important in a database than integrity." ESquared