Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Joining and sorting multiple text files 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

cdj02

Technical User
Jun 2, 2012
US
Hello, I run systems that collect measurement data and dump it into delimited text files. I'm trying to join these files and sort them by Date, Target_Name, and site so that i can plot the data. Currently, i have the following code that does work to join the files into a single file called All_CST.cst but I'm new to Perl and I'm having trouble with sorting. I know how to sort simple lists in Perl but re-ordering more complex data like I have in these logfiles is a bit beyond me at the moment (and I'd really like to avoid having to use MS Excel to do my sorting). I'd appreciate any help in pointing me in the right direction on sorting this type of data. Thanks in advance for your time.

My Script
#!/usr/bin/perl
open (LOGFILEOUT, "> ALL_CST.cst");

@files = <*.cst,*>;

$totallines=0;

foreach(@files){
if ($_ =~ /ALL_CST.cst/){next;};
$filename=$_;
open (LOGFILEIN, "< $filename");
while (<LOGFILEIN>){
print LOGFILEOUT "$_ \n";
}

}

The Data files are here:

Hi

Sorting huge amount of data is not a trivial task. Based on the line separators used in the log files I suppose you are on a Unix-like operating system. In that case I would start with [tt]sort[/tt] :
Code:
sort -k20 -k16 -k1n *.cst,* > ALL_CST.cst
Or to skip the header lines :
Code:
tail -qn+2 *.cst,* | sort -k20 -k16 -k1n > ALL_CST.cst

But there is a big problem : the date format. If it would be ISO date, it could be sorted as string, but this one need abit of preprocessing :
Code:
[gray]# if 04/12/2012-14:10:37 means 2012 April 12[/gray]