Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

JavaScript ActiveX Help with PING/Bat/Exec/RDP/Telnet

Status
Not open for further replies.

LantanaCom

IS-IT--Management
Nov 4, 2009
US
Alright, First I am a Newbie at C++ and Furthurmore Java, I have basic Knowlege of C++ and HTML only.

I am using ASP, Pages Currently.

I am creating an internal Web Page for the company I work for, The "Page" I am now working on now, is my "IT" Page, which I have a list of Servers, Switches, Routers and Other.

For Each Switch/Router/Server I want to be able to execute ping command, This can run on server side or client side (Using all Windows enviroment and is only being used for our company internaly). I would love for this to run within the webpage but I have read where this isnt possible.

My Template,(I would like for each table in its own .htm)

Table1.htm
col1,col2,col3
Server1,pingCheckbox,runRDP
Server2,pingCheckbox,runRDP
Server3,pingCheckbox,runDRP
,pingSubmit,
,pingAllSubmit,

Table2.htm
col1,col2,col3,col4
Switch1,pingCheckbox,runTelnet,hrefHTTP
Switch2,pingCheckbox,runTelnet,hrefHTTP
Switch3,pingCheckbox,runTelnet,hrefHTTP
,pingSubmit,,
,pingAllSubmit,,

Table3.htm
col1,col2,col3,col4
Router1,pingCheckbox,runTelnet,hrefHTTP
Router2,pingCheckbox,runTelnet,hrefHTTP
Router3,pingCheckbox,runTelnet,hrefHTTP
,pingSubmit,,
,pingAllSubmit,,

//Ping Everything that is checked in each table
PingMaster.htm (Or Main ASP Page?)
Table1
Table2
Table3
pingMasterSubmit

So above is what I would like, I am open to ideas or sagestions, I have it in a table format beacuse for Routers/Switch/Other I have other options I would like to perform like, HTTP or Telnet. Servers I want to be able to RDP to.