Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Java/Sun or Microsoft.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

carlg

Programmer
Jun 23, 2004
US
I am an old school UNIX/C programmer. I have about 8 years of work experience.

I have some clues that the company in which I work will be sold within the next year, most likely leaving me with no job (don't know this is going to happen for sure, but it's a good guess).

After this job is gone, I want to start a new career path in a new technology. Just seems to me like a lot of the new jobs (looking at job postings) are either in Java or .Net. I don't have experience in either.

So I thought while I'm still working I could try to prepare myself to get a certification. This way I will be more marketable when the time comes.

Just wondering which certification I should go for. The Sun/Java cert or the MS .Net certs??

Any suggestions or advice??

Thanks

Start by getting yourself up to speed on OOAD in general. Going forward you're not going to see much happening in straight procedural languages.

The Java and .NET platforms are very similar structurally. Both rely on programs that call a framework rather than OS based API's directly. You learn one, you'll have a good starting point for the other.

If you've been strictly a procecedural programmer, I would suggest learning relational database concepts as well as Web type technologies also before specializing in a platform.

The trend for both Java and .NET appears to be PC or Web based clients using Web Services to access databases (for most business applications, at least). That means you need fammiliarity with bazillions of different technologies all at once.

_____
Jeff