Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Java Exception for an invalid login to MySQL server? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

peterv12

Technical User
Dec 31, 2008
US
I'm new to java, so please be kind. I've written a little java script that displays a login screen, with username and password. It works fine, except when an invalid username or password is entered. It just blows up (as expected). What I'd like to know is if there is some way to code a "catch" that will prevent the blow-up and just redisplay the login screen. I've been searching, but haven't found anything yet. Thanks in advance.
Peter V.

Thanks for the link, but I have looked at that previously. The question I have is where can I find out how to specify the exact exception I need? The example shows "ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException". Is there somewhere I can find a list of all the exceptions? I'm looking for an exception of an invalid login to MySQL. I have no idea what that would be called. If anyone knows, please help!
Thanks,
Peter V.

Try catching a generic Exception and printing a trace:
Code:
try
{
}catch(Exception e)
{
   e.printStackTrace();
}

This will print in stdout something like:
Code:
      java.lang.NullPointerException
         at MyClass.mash(MyClass.java:9)
         at MyClass.crunch(MyClass.java:6)
         at MyClass.main(MyClass.java:3)
And this should show the exact exception you need to catch.

Never do that! It's a bad practice to catch generic exceptions because you will catching whatever errors can come.