Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

IT Methodology

Status
Not open for further replies.

tbohon

Programmer
Apr 20, 2000
US
Does anyone have, or have a reference to, a working project management methodology for IT projects?

I work in a hospital and we do no development work - everything we install is an existing commercial product. In the 6 years that I've worked here (lots more years in IT and as a PM before that) we've looked at and tried to use 4 or 5 different methodologies. None have been successful for one reason or another.

I'm facing a major system install later this year and am trying to come up with a proposal to try something different - hopefully something that works :) - and am interested in seeing what others have used successfully for their IT projects.

Thanks in advance for any input/response to this post.

Tom

Tom,

I have a project management methodology at Take a look and see if it is helpful to you. (Note that there is a small license fee to use on a company-wide basis.)

Two books I like are Project Management Maturity Model by J Kent Crawford and CMMI Distilled by Dennis Ahern, Aaron Clouse and Richard Turner

Dear TOM,

I have developed a tailor made Project Management Process(PMP)- UAD Mantra. UAD stands for Understand-Architect- Deply. Detals about UAD is avilable in under "Process" section. I would like you to have a look at it and you talk to me to clear your clarifications.

Srini

Consultant
Grey Matter India Technologies Pvt Ltd

I have found this book to be very helpful. Title - "Project Planning Scheduling and Control" third edition, by James P. Lewis.

It is for Project Management and covers the Hard to manage projects.