Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

IS THIS POSSIBLE ?????

Status
Not open for further replies.

VNDN

Programmer
Feb 28, 2003
US
I have been assigned to maintain a application that had written in Clipper 5.2. and I am learning and making changes to application at the same time. And The scoop is that we constantly having an error "File is used by another" when support associates running a utility to reindex all the DBF files while someone else is also in the application. Is there any way to lock this down so that no one else can get to the files that being used when perform this function.
Please guide me. Again I have very little experience with clipper. Thank you. DN

Hi, VNDN

The short answer is no, it isn't possible.

Some functions, like pack and reindex require exclusive use of the file, because in order to perform the function the entire file has to be locked, which precludes any other user (or even another task in the same machine) accessing the file concurrently.

When you are going to do a reindex, you USE the file EXCLUSIVE and then test for a neterr() to see if you got it. If not, you put up a message (sounds like yours is defaulting to "File used by another") and go away. There is really nothing you can do about it.

In a production situation the solution is to keep the indexes up to date and avoid crashes etc which may corrupt them. Then it should only rarely be necessary to reindex.

Jock

Jock, VNDN,

In general terms you need exclusive access to pack and index in Clipper.