Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

is there any Java Plugin issues?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheech

Technical User
Nov 6, 2000
EU
Hi

I am a Web Developer who works 99.9% of the time with asp. my boss BSM has been asked to allow a couple of users to install the Java Plugin. he wants to know if there are any issues he should be aware of. I have had a look round and cant find anything but just thought I would post in here to see if anyone had any comments

Cheers Tony C

[Peace][Pipe]

What kind of issues are you concerned with ?

Havent got a clue.

Its one of those pass the buck type questions from a manager who has no clue about the web.

As far as I am concerned there has been a java plugin in IE for adinfinitum, but I think he just wants to say "it was him that said it would be OK". We only support IE5.5+ as the company standard.

One of the contractors who works for us uses java applets on its extranets and we have some users that need to access these for service reports.

I just wanted to make sure there had been no developments that could allow network vulnability or such through an applet

Cheech

[Peace][Pipe]

Adding any new software to your company is going to cause an extra bit of security problems, especially applets and ActiveX controls which can in theory create unsecure outgoing TCP/IP calls into the ether, but I guess one more won't hurt !