Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Is there any free software to create a website for Macs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steffieg

Technical User
Jan 29, 2003
GB
I have a Mac (using Safari), I really need to create myself a website but dont have a clue how to begin - is there any free software available to download that works on a Mac, I've trawled the web for ages but cant find anything. Needs to be easy to use!
Thanks all
Steph

PS I am a wildlife/pet portrait artist - anyone want to build me a website in return for a painting?????

iWeb isn't free, but isn't very expensive...

I always search versiontracker.com for things like this - so worth a try.

(Let us know what you find!)

Fee

The question should be [red]Is it worth trying to do?[/red] not [blue] Can it be done?[/blue]

You can try open source NVU - google it. I have it but have only tried it as I use Dreamweaver.

Using OSX 10.3.9 on a G4

Hi Steffieg
You can get Netscape 7.2 which is a free download and it has NetScape Composer which lets you create web pages and does most of the html for you.
Do not get the newer or Beta version of Netscape since it no longer has the Composer.
Hope this helps.
IMacQuarker

You may even enjoy making it from scratch.
Web pages are just text files after all.

<honk>*:O)</honk>

Tyres: Mine's a pint of the black stuff.
Mike: You can't drink a pint of Bovril.

One other option is to use the free website builders on many free webpage hosters like geocities, angelfire, etc. You can build & store your pages there, then cut & paste them to your real website once you are satisfied with them.