Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Is the MCSE certification helpful to career path & salary? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

missandrea

IS-IT--Management
Apr 1, 2001
US
I've recently researched getting into the IT industry in Denver, CO, by taking a MCSE training class. My background is: Finance grad., independent business for 8yrs., banking/securities industry for 4yrs. No previous IT experience. Just looking for a change in career and more exposure to tech. Is this a good way to start? Is salary potential good?

An MCSE is a good way to have doors open up to you. Problem is if you do not have the experiance to back up the MCSE you may find it harder to retain a good job than some one with experiance and no MCSE. There are a ton of "paper MCSEs" out there. They are individuals who take courses and study books to pass the exams. Problem is, with out experience you may find yourself lacking when it comes to job performance. If you are gonna get certified I would suggest setting up a home network so you can have some experiance in the field to go along with the certification.

Read all the comments in the "Some Honest Answers" thread.

Brian