Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

IP Address scheme

Status
Not open for further replies.

Timmkatt

IS-IT--Management
Sep 28, 2006
US
My phone vendor will be installing a SIP based VOIP system soon and has requested that I change my internal IP address scope from class a to class c (His words). Although I am a little confused with what he has given me as a suggessted IP scheme. Currently my subnet mask is 255.0.0.0 and my IP addresses start at 123.0.0.1-254. The recommended configuration he wants is subnet mask 255.255.255.0 and my address scope to start at 123.0.1.1.-254 Now it has been a while since I studied TCP/IP but isn't this basically a class c Subnet mask but still a class A address scope. I just want make sure I'm not walking off a cliff when I make the changes and have anymore downtime than needed or have to back track. Will this work? Not really seeing why a class C subnet mask and a class A address scope makes sense. Thanks for any help on this.

Both addressing schemes make some large part of the internet inaccessible to your network, needlessly.

123.x.x.x addresses out in the internet will not be reachable if you are using them locally.

RFC 1918 private address spaces exist so you do not block part of the internet.

I tried to remain child-like, all I acheived was childish.

The "class A" & "class C" of the textbooks isn't quite the same as the "class A" & "class C" used on a day-to-day basis by network people.

When he said "change your scheme to class C subnets", he's telling you to change to subnets with a /24 subnet mask.