Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Inventory vs Category

Status
Not open for further replies.

undrcovr

IS-IT--Management
Apr 30, 2006
US
Im new to BE 10 and Ive got the basic backup jobs working. Can someone explain the difference between Inventory and Category? What are they used for? We do a full backup each night from M-F.

Inventory tells Backup Exec how many tapes are available, what slots they are in (if you have multiple slots) and what kind of tapes they are. Basically scans the barcodes on the tape.

Catalog tells Backup Exec what is ON the tapes. Reads the header(s) on the tape.

-SQLBill

Posting advice: FAQ481-4875

So basically if I have 5 tapes that need to be erased, they need to be inventoried? The reason I ask is because when I insert them, nothing shows up in online media. And when I highlight my drive in devices, it doesnt show a tape present.

That's because Veritas doesn't know the tapes are there. You need to run inventory so that Veritas will recognize the tapes.

-SQLBill

I ran inventory on each tape, naming each one the day of the week. Should they be showing up in online media?

Do you have a tape library or just a single tape drive?

-SQLBill

A single tape drive. Its an HP Storageworks Dat72.

Ah....that's the issue. When you take the tape out, Veritas no longer recognizes it. Every time you put it back in, Veritas has to be told what it is (Inventory).

-SQLBill

Ah, makes sense. So with only one tape drive and multiple tapes I dont really need to run an inventory job?