Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

invalid Tn

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tommytelco

Programmer
Dec 21, 2017
US
I am new to the cs1000 world and i was wondering if anybody new how to get a new ip tn on line with out going through the midnight run. My tn comes up invalid reason Unequipped. But when i come in in he morning it will be work.

thanks
Tommytelco

Your IP phone should be on line the whole time unless someone unpluggs it or your Network is disconnected overnight. Are other phones affected and have you compared the settings on the affected phone with a working one?.

Firebird Scrambler

Nortel & Avaya Meridian 1 / Succession & BCM / Norstar Programmer

Website = linkedin

Ok. So what I am thinking here is you have an SMG / Core set up. You have a main location and a SMG (Survivable Media Gateway). This is why your phone works after midnights. During midnights the system performs a datadump and backup to the SMG. This sends the database from the Core to the SMG, the SMG then receives the database and reboots and puts the new database, with our new TN, in that system.

The way it works.

IP phone boots up and gets all config data via DHCP setup.
IP phone gets S1 and S2 IP addresses (S1/S2 are ip addresses for your systems)
IP phone tries to register to S1 (which is SMG) then if it cannot get there, goes to S2 (which may be your Core)

I think this will eventually time out, unless your S1 and S2 are both the SMG.

To activate a new TN in the middle of the day:

I guess it would depend on how your core is configured.

Go to LD 117
=>prt bkpr

=> prt bkpr
Number of Backup Rules defined = 1
----------------------------------------------------