Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

International characters 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimstarr

Programmer
Feb 6, 2001
US
I've never worked with code pages before.

I have an application that displays in any one of 8 languages as chosen by the user in a Preferences screen. The translations are done phrase by phrase based on a DBF which contains a column for each language. It work great, except for the fact that it's limited to the standard American character set.

What would I need to do in order to get it to correctly display characters from the alphabet of the chosen language (in this case, Slovenian)? Thanks!!!

Jim

Jim,

Do you need to display data that is stored in a table, or is this simply a question of displaying strings in your user interface?

If the former, you need to make sure the tables are marked with the correct code page ID. In this case, I guess the code page would be 1250 (Eastern European Windows), but you'd have to check that.

The table gets its code page when it's created. You can use CPDBF() to find what code page a given table has. To change the code page, you cpzero.prg to remove the existing code page, then open the table. You will be prompted for the new code page.

If you are only concerned with displaying text in your user interface, it's probably enough to use CPCONVERT() to convert the string. Note that the conversion is not completely reliable. If the target code page contains characters that are not present in the current font, they will display as empty rectangles or as rubbish characters.