Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Internal Protocols and BGP in relation to NAT...

Status
Not open for further replies.

jsingh7

MIS
Feb 5, 2002
US
Hello, I'm new to Cisco Networking... My question is about using Internal Protocols (RIP, IGRP, OSPF) with NAT... and also using an External Protocol such as BGP with NAT.

In studying for my CCNP:Routing certification, I came across this...
"In order to connect your Private LAN to the Internet, you HAVE to use BGP, since it is an External Routing Protocol, or an EGP"
Now how much of that statement is true. I thought you could just use NAT if you were using RIP, IGRP, or OSPF... to connect your LAN to the Internet.?? Do you really HAVE to use BGP on the router that will connect your network to the Internet?

Secondly, do you still have to use NAT to connect your LAN to the Internet if you are running BGP? I'm sorry if these questions seem to be a bit unclear or 'weird'. I basically just want to know how to connect our Lab of 10 2500/2600 routers to the Internet so that I can ping one of them from a remote location. If you can answer any of these questions, I will be VERY thankful!!!

J.

internet---BGP--ISP---privateIP/real subnet----YourRouter---LAN - private IP

You dont need to worry about BGP unless you plan to be a real node on the internet like an ISP is. Or pressing business reasons to run it. Normally you will connect to the ISP by static route, RIP or OSPF and let them deal with the BGP issues.

RealIP---NAT---PrivateIP