Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Integration of MS Access with Excel

Status
Not open for further replies.

sayantan1286

Programmer
Oct 30, 2013
US
Hi,

I am relatively new to VBA coding. I want to extract data (by subsetting) from an access file and get the results in excel. After doing some research I have seen that using "querytables" in Excel VBA can do the trick. I have the following code :-

Sub test()
Dim a As String
Dim b As String
a = "ODBC;DBQ=C:\codes\Database1.mdb;Driver={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)}"
b = "select values from table1 where ID=1"
With ActiveSheet.QueryTables.Add(Connection:=a, Destination:=Range("E15"))
.CommandText = b
.Refresh BackgroundQuery:=False
End With
End Sub

The table in Access has two columns: values and ID. For simplicity lets assume that ID can take two distinct values : 1 and 2.
When I run the above code for the first time, it works fine. The set of "values" for ID=1 are extracted in excel starting from E15. But the problem arises when I change the the value of ID to 2 and run the query. The original column gets shifted to F, which I do not want. I want the query to overwrite the results in column E.

I know there is a thing called "ActiveSheet.QueryTables(1).Refresh" but I am not able to use it properly.

I am trying to solve this issue for quite sometime now but with no luck. I must admit here that I am not well versed with all the functionalities of excel VBA since I am in learning phase.

Any help will be highly appreciated.

Thanks,
Sayantan

hj,

What version of Excel?

Your QueryTable example is valid for Excel 97-2003. Excel 2007+ is different!

Skip,
[sub]
[glasses]Just traded in my old subtlety...
for a NUANCE![tongue][/sub]