Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Installation Query

Status
Not open for further replies.

snipesnab

IS-IT--Management
Oct 24, 2002
GB
I have setup a test exchange server on our network as I am planning to incorporate exchange 2000 into our network. Please remember I am a beginner with exchange 2000 and havent had much experience:

I have run into a problem where I cannot connect to exchange mail boxes or public folders on the exchange 2000 server. I have setup an exchange mailbox on my username in AD on the server, however when I add the exchange module to my outlook 2000 The first error I get is that "your name cannot be found in the address list" ( I have checked that the mailbox name and exchange server netbios name are correct), i have to push cancel to get past this and when outlook 2000 opens it will not let me open public folders etc, says it cannot connect.

I originally installed exchange server on the network on another machine using a different name etc but had to remove it because the pc could not run exchange properly, do you think this might be causing the problems I am having? Does anyone have any suggestions? HELP

Do not type your userid but the full name you entered!
For Public folders, you will not see them if you are not connected, that is obvious.
For the server name, if in doubt, fill in the ip address to test.

Marc
[sub]If 'something' 'somewhere' gives 'some' error, expect random guesses or no replies at all. Please specify details.
Free Tip: The F1 Key does NOT destroy your PC!
[/sub]