Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Install software from remote location

Status
Not open for further replies.

tubbycub

MIS
Feb 10, 2003
CN
Hi everyone,

I am a total beginner in Solaris, the question I am going to ask might have been asked before but I couldn't find the thread anywhere.

Anyway, I need to install some 3rd party software, eg. Vignette Storyserver, into a Solaris 8 system. The problem is that the server is physically located in another country and I don't think I will go there. My only access to this system is via Telnet.

I had heard from people that it is possible to perform remote installations via Telnet, so how do I go about doing it?

I need step by step guidance, including command lines, on how to perform remote installations.

Thanks in advance!

What is the installation medium, a CD? Images? A .tar.gz file? The first step is actually getting the software either on to the host or visible to that host across the network. Annihilannic.

ftp the software to the server and then telnet to install. Too bad I.T. is not cash business

Luc Foata
Unix sysadmin, Oracle DBA

The installer is on a CD. Can the server read from my local CD ROM?

Oh, I forgot to add. The machine I telnet from is on Windows NT. I read from somewhere that the commands go like the ones below. However, it seems like they meant the remote machine to be another Solaris box. Is it possible to do it on a Windows box?

At the remote system, key in

#share -F nfs -o -ro /cdrom/cdrom0

This sets up /cdrom/cdrom0 as an NFS shared file system.

Go to local system where you want to install the software

#mount remotesys:/cdrom/cdrom0 /mountpoint

What does all these mean?

Thanks again!